Travel Information for UK Citizens

Information about the transition period according to the Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community (Brexit)

Based on the Brexit agreement, the UK is no longer an EU Member State starting from 1 February 2020, however a transition period will be in place until 31 December 2020.

The following travel discounts for which EU citizens are eligible if they can present their proof of citizenship shall remain available to UK citizens during the transition period:

  • Free public transport available to EU citizens aged 65 years and above
  • Travel discounts available to EU citizens if they are national student ID/international student ID holders (daytime or evening school with a seat in an EU member state outside Hungary or in Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland): travel within Budapest (or within a town of the metropolitan area) with a student pass; travel outside Budapest on regional buses and on lines H5, H6, H8, H9 with a 50% discounted ticket
  • 90% discount on tickets for group travel of at least 10 EU citizens under the age of 18 travelling outside the administrative boundaries of Budapest on regional buses and on lines H5, H6, H8, H9.

Please check for more information. More details on student passes are available under

Comments are closed.